Governing Council


The role of the Governing Council

Ƶ’s Governing Council provides an opportunity for parents/caregivers and community members to work with the Principal and to:

  • Involve the school community in the governance of the school by:
    – providing a focus and a forum for the involvement of parents and the school community
    – ascertaining the educational needs of the local community and the attitude of the local community to educational developments with the school
    – ensuring that the cultural and social diversity of the community is considered and particular needs are appropriately identified
  • Set the broad direction and vision of the school
  • Develop and approve College policies
  • Determine the application of the total financial resources available to the school including the regular review of the budget
  • Monitor and review the Services Agreement
  • Report to the school community and the Minister on:
    – the strategic plan
    – the finances of the school
    – operational plans and the council’s operations



The Annual General Meeting (AGM) is usually held in February or March each year and Governing Council meetings are held twice per term. All meetings commence at 7pm, starting in the Buchanan Seminar Room before moving to a different part of the College each meeting.

Meeting dates available here.


2024 Governing Council

Chairperson: David Pillion

Deputy Chairperson: Kerry Sparrow

Secretary: Lisann Brennan

Treasurer: Tony Beach

Principal: Warren Symonds



Paige Goodwin, Trudie King, Lisa Simmons, Amanda Flood, Melinda Wellard, Kelly Bax, Brooke Koenecke, James Rundell


Staff Representatives:

Aimee Eberhard, Mike Dutton


Student Representatives:

Jaida Dalwood, Sophie Klippel



For 2024 the Governing Council has four sub-committees which make appropriate recommendations to the Governing Council for approval. These sub-committees are:


Sub-Committee Lead
Finance Advisory Group Tony Beach
Parent & Friends Sub-Committee TBC
Uniform Sub-Committee Paige Goodwin
Canteen Sub-Committee Trudie King


ALL members of the school community are welcome to join a sub-committee. If you’re interested in joining, please email [email protected] with your name, contact details and which sub-committee you are wanting to participate in, and we will be in touch.


Previous news from the Chairperson